Are You a Habitual Celebrity Crusher?

Hi, I’m Kate Patrick.  I’m an habitual celebrity crusher.  There!  I said it.  And this morning as I read the blog of a favorite person, it got me to thinking back over my life and how many celebs I have been infatuated with from an early age.  Yes, I am about to wax not-so-eloquently about each of them, so here is where you may want to decide to do the laundry instead!  Thanks for dropping by!

As I was saying, this is something I remember experiencing since elementary school.  I have an older brother and sister, so even though I was only 9 years old, I was influenced by the music on the radio and albums I heard them play.  Television wasn’t too big a deal, but yes, I remember having programs I just had to watch.  I pleaded with  my mother to let me stay up late to watch “Marcus Welby, M.D.“. She usually gave in as it was easier than having to miss half of it herself due to my shameless begging.

Now, feel free to journey down Memory Lane with me.  Were any of these people a crush of yours?

First Celebrity Crush was Bobby Sherman…followed by ( not in sequential order)Donny Osmond, Joe Namath (WTF), David Cassidy, Shaun Cassidy, Paul Michael Glaser, Brett Hudson of the Hudson Brothers, Tony Orlando, Steve Perry of Journey, Pierce Brosnan (starting with Remington Steele days), and give or take a few that may not have made a lasting impression on me, leading to my current crush RICHARD ARMITAGE.  Looks like music and television have made a bigger impact on me than I realized!!  This was hilarious for me to recall.  Hope it brings a few laughs your way as well!  Have a great week!  Here are some pictures to make this even more interesting as we stroll down the runway of men’s fashions and hairstyles through the decades, starting with the 1960’s (if you are good at math, you know about how old I am)!!  Please feel free to share some of your celebrity crushes with me!!

     

     

      

Honorable Mentions go out to…

 

MY FOREVER REAL CRUSH IS ON…

  Mr. Patrick!!  He doesn’t question my Fantasy Crush, because he knows he delivers a real life fantasy for me every day with the way he tells me how much he loves me and how beautiful I am as he looks at me from across the room while I am doing any number of random tasks.  He brings me flowers for no reason. Holds my hand wherever we go.  Kisses me “Hello” and “Goodbye” and lots in between.   Hides sparkly jewelry for me to find for no other reason than” I am a lady and I need lots of sparkly things”.  No, he isn’t perfect, but he is real and he thinks I am beautiful, sexy, and getting better with each year that passes (25 to date), and he holds me in his arms and tells me these things daily. He is a keeper.  I love him now and always.

No wonder I write fantasy love stories!!  I’ve been writing them in my head most of my life!  I’m sure there are some psychological threads that must be loose, but I believe I am still “fronting” well enough to continue to move through society without wearing a “Maniac Alert” bracelet!

Have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Are You a Habitual Celebrity Crusher?

  1. Wasn’t the name of his big hit “Julie”? Something like,”Julie, Julie, Julie do you want me? Julie, Julie, Julie do you care?..” I was big time in love, but as you can see I had a fickle heart! Have you seen Aidan Turner in “Desperate Romantics” and “Being Human”? I can’t wait to see him in “The Hobbit”. Of course, my loyalty lies with Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield, but Aidan is going to be the “Hottie” dwarf to watch!

  2. I’ve never thought of myself as a habitual celebrity crusher but looking back the answer is most probably yes. We share the Pierce Brosnan crush, also from the Remington Steele days and Shaun Cassidy, in fact at the time give me both Hardy Boys. My first big teen girl crush was Rick Springfield, in fact I still have it. I wonder if my RA crush will be as enduring. To be honest I tend to crush more about the characters they play as opposed to the actor.

    Perhaps I should change my stance to being a habitual Fictional character crusher. Sir Guy, Lucas and Porter being top of the list.

    • Now that you mention it, “Fictional Character” Crusher may be more appropriate for myself as well. I was too wound up with Neal Schon and Steve Perry of Journey to crush on Rick Springfield, but did think he was good-looking. RA’s characters are all crush-worthy, but must admit it is Guy, Lucas, Harry, and Porter that send me in orbit. But…based on interviews only, the real man seems like a good person, and one I would respect if I ever truly knew him. Who knows…he may be a real rascal (which is pretty alluring to me, too! Always like a bad boy!). I am content to just hang out with these characters in Fantasy Land!! So glad you dropped by. Hope the coming week is a good one for you! Come visit again soon. :)

Leave a Reply

