The Angry Woman Suite by Lee Fullbright….Review Tour & Giveaway

MEDIA KIT NEW TAWS cover (2)Welcome to my site today as I host Lee Fullbright, author of the new book, The Angry Woman Suite.  As part of her Review Tour, Lee is giving away a $100 Amazon Gift Card to a randomly selected commenter at the end of her tour.  Click the link below to find out the stops she will be making along her tour.  Remember the more comments you leave, the better your chances of winning!

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2012/11/review-tour-angry-woman-suite-by-lee.html.

I made an agreement with Goddess Fish Promotions to review The Angry Woman Suite by Lee Fullbright.  I must admit I hastily read the blurb and thought this was not going to be my cup of tea, but I had made the commitment, so I would uphold it.  The story is told through three different characters’ point of view.  Each narrator has a page in the front explaining who they are, and who the characters are that they mention during their segments of the book.  Again, when I saw this I wondered how I was going to read a book that appeared to require a lot of brainpower to keep the plot straight.  I couldn’t have been more wrong about the assumptions I had made as I prepared to begin reading, The Angry Woman Suite.

I found the character outline helpful and easy to follow in the beginning of the story, but then I had everyone clear in my mind.  I was captured by this book from the beginning, and would read it at night until my Nook dropped on my face when I drifted off to sleep!  It was my little guilty pleasure to read each night after settling everyone else down for the night.  Now, as for the real review of the book, I will warn you this is not a happy-go-lucky romance, though the lovers in this story are deeply affected by their love. The psychological element to this plot was fascinating, propelling me to continue in search of some answers.  Mystery is much a part of this story, and another reason the reader must read until they can no longer hold their eyes open.  There is humor in some parts of the story that made me chuckle.  As a resident of the Gulf Coast, Ms. Fullbright nailed the way a hot, humid day in the South is like no other heat one will experience anywhere on the planet.

As I read this, I saw every scene in my head like a movie. Her descriptions of scenery, places, facial features,body language I saw it all vividly in my imagination.  This story was well worth reading. I really liked it, and the characters “got to me”.  I have thought about this book and what happened in it more than once since I finished it a few days ago.  I recommend this book to the serious readers out there.  This book will make its mark, and I believe bring Ms. Fullbright into the spotlight as never before.

 

BLURB:  

Raised in a crumbling New England mansion by four women with personalities as split as a cracked mirror, young Francis Grayson has an obsessive need to fix them all. There’s his mother, distant and beautiful Magdalene; his disfigured, suffocating Aunt Stella; his odious grandmother; and the bane of his existence, his abusive and delusional Aunt Lothian.

For years, Francis plays a tricky game of duck and cover with the women, turning to music to stay sane. He finds a friend and mentor in Aidan Madsen, schoolmaster, local Revolutionary War historian, musician and keeper of the Grayson women’s darkest secrets. In a skillful move by Fullbright, those secrets are revealed through the viewpoints of three different people–Aidan, Francis and Francis’stepdaughter, Elyse–adding layers of eloquent complexity to a story as powerful as it is troubling.

While Francis realizes his dream of forming his own big band in the 1940s, his success is tempered by the inner monster of his childhood, one that roars to life when he marries Elyse’s mother. Elyse becomes her stepfather’s favorite target, and her bitterness becomes entwined with a desire to know the real Francis Grayson.

For Aidan’s part, his involvement with the Grayson family only deepens, and secrets carried for a lifetime begin to coalesce as he seeks to enlighten Francis–and subsequently Elyse–of why the events of so many years ago matter now. The ugliness of deceit, betrayal and resentment permeates the narrative, yet there are shining moments of hope, especially in the relationship between Elyse and her grandfather.

Ultimately, as more of the past filters into the present, the question becomes: What is the truth, and whose version of the truth is correct? Fullbright never untangles this conundrum, and it only adds to the richness of this exemplary novel.—Kirkus Reviews

 

EXCERPT:

ELYSE

1955

It is said that love is comfort, and that comfort comes from recognition of the beloved. Papa was the first to tell me this, and if it’s even a little bit true, then I took my comfort for granted, not realizing that one can’t truly appreciate the beloved until one yearns for the comfort to be returned. Even now, when I can’t sleep at night, when I can’t slow the speeding of my heart, when I can’t stop the replaying of what-if’s in my head, I take myself back to that place where cabbage roses dance on walls and my beloved reigns supreme; where I am queen of his heart and he is my comfort, and then and only then do I feel safe.

You’d think it would be enough, being able to conjure up at least a measure of my old, first love. Yet for a long while it wasn’t. Because I was incapable of stanching the nagging questions about my second, almost greater love. Questioning why Francis hadn’t seen the truth of it like Papa had; that the streak I’d struggled with hadn’t been born of badness; that badness wasn’t an intrinsic part of me like my eyes being blue.

But Francis, unfortunately, hadn’t been able to see through things the way Papa had, and that was because Francis had rarely felt safe. You could see it in the way Francis’s eyes got doubtful taking in a room, and the way he was always biting down on his lower lip. The way it looked as if he was always trying to keep himself from crying

 

REVIEW SOUND BYTES

From Kirkus Reviews

“Secrets and lies suffuse generations of one Pennsylvania family . . . in a skillful move by Fullbright, those secrets are revealed through the viewpoints of three very different people . . . a superb debut that exposes the consequences of the choices we make and legacy’s sometimes excruciating embrace.”

2012 DISCOVERY AWARD

GLOBAL E-BOOK AWARD NOMINEE

From Midwest Book Review

“A very human story . . . a fine read focusing on the long lasting dysfunction of family.”

“There is something fascinating in labyrinthine plot twists, which is what we have here, and I must applaud Fullbright for her keen and magical ability to pull it off with such aplomb.”-Norm Goldman, Montreal Books Examiner and Bookpleasures.com

5 Stars ***** Reviewed by Joana James for Readers Favorite: “The Angry Woman Suite is quite a ride . . . very cleverly written . . . an outstanding novel.”

Rating: 5.0 stars Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite:” Lee Fullbright is master of characterization.”

Rating: 5.0 stars Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite:“The Angry Woman Suite is a brilliant, complex, complicated story about talented, complicated people . . . this is a story to remember!”

 

MEDIA KIT lee3 (2)

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Lee Fullbright, a medical practice consultant in her non-writing life, lives on San Diego’s beautiful peninsula with her writing partner, Baby Rae, a 12-year-old rescued Australian cattle dog with attitude.

The Angry Woman Suite, a Kirkus Critics’ pick, 5-starred Readers Favorite, and a Discovery Aware winner, is her first published novel.

 

LINKS:

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13555924-the-angry-woman-suite

Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/#!/fullbrightlee

Blog/website: http://www.leefullbright.com

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Angry-Woman-Suite-Fullbright/dp/193769853X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352916923&sr=8-1&keywords=the+angry+woman+suite

 

goddess-fish

 

 

30 thoughts on “The Angry Woman Suite by Lee Fullbright….Review Tour & Giveaway

  1. Beautiful excerpt! I love the writing and hasn’t everyone experienced a time where he would like to go back to place where all was well.
    Do you have a place where you want to go back, when you are stressed out or something’s gone wrong?

    moonsurfer123(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Hi Anas, Yes, precisely! That “safe time and place,” when life seemed controllable and meant just for us (only to find out, down the line, that’s just not the case) … good to “see” you again! Thanks for picking up this book!

    • Thank YOU for writing such an incredible story. I could feel everything. My heart went out to Elyse when she could see the “dark cloud on the horizon” with Francis. I knew exactly what that meant. I have mulled this story over in my mind for a few days. It must have been emotionally exhausting to write, but it is a gift to your readers. :)

      Kate

      • Hi Kate, Again, thank you for hosting me and The Angry Woman Suite this week; I had so much fun meeting new people! I appreciate your beautifully written review and wonder if I may impose a teeny bit more? Would you do me the great favor of posting your review to my Amazon and Goodreads listings as well? I’d be SO grateful! Best, Lee

  2. I love thrillers, I’ll have to take a closer look at this one, it sounds fascinating and a lot of people on Goodreads recced it.

    anzumerlin(at)mail.ru

  3. I am honored to have been able to host Ms. Fullbright’s Review Tour today. I read every single word of this book (NO SKIMMING), and I can promise that if the excerpt got your interest, you must get a copy! I couldn’t wait for everyone to go to bed, so I could go read into the wee hours of the morning!

    Kate

  4. I love reading a positive review for a book I’m really excited about reading, haha ;-)

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  5. Thanks for the helpful review, I’ll admit I was a bit put off by the blurb at first, but the reviews are definitely changing my mind.

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  6. Fantastic review, thank you for sharing it, this book sounds better with every blog post I read about it!

    anzuazura AT yahoo DOT de

  7. Pingback: Book review: The Angry Woman Suite, by Lee Fullbright | Emily's Tea Leaves

Leave a Reply

