Workout Motivation

I’ve mentioned before that fellow author, Joan Chandler, is one of my best friends.  We not only get together as writing buddies, but do things with our kids (who can forget our trip to New Orleans with “Little Guy”?) , as well as many other types of adventures.  If you follow her blog, you know that she and I recently joined a local gym to yet again give ourselves a chance to make good on that universal New Year’s resolution.  Today was the Fourth of July (actually yesterday, but since I haven’t been to bed yet, it still seems like today), and we got together to write.  We decided to go through the gym before settling down with our laptops, dictionaries, thesauruses, reference books, etc., so off we went even though it was a wet, rainy night.

When we got there, we were almost the only people in a usually packed out facility.  We were thrilled!  We tried out some machines we haven’t had the nerve to try before, lest we make a spectacle of ourselves.  While I was wrestling a machine intended to define and sculpt the muscles in my arms, I looked over and spotted a man who could have been a double for Richard Armitage.

imagesCAEQQJUM

He was dressed in a sleeveless T-shirt and black track pants like he wore during dwarf boot camp, preparing for The Hobbit.

imagesCAHD5CZ6

   Each time he pulled down on those weights, his biceps looked ready to pop, much like John Porter in Strike Back.

images

When we went upstairs to do the elliptical machine, there he was again, on the treadmill, sprinting wide open, like Lucas North in a scene from Spooks/MI-5.

imagesCADY0TJG

Needless to say, I had no problem staying motivated to do my workout plan tonight!  I accomplished more than I’ve ever done since joining this gym.  With scenery like this, I was unaware of minutes and worked longer than ever with no whining or complaints whatsoever.   It would be great if I could always have this same scenery each time I go, but that is most unlikely.  Instead I’ll have to look deep within to find daily motivations.  Most days, I feel like the girl on the right with the chocolate, who is secretly debating whether or not to tackle the girl on the left so she can have her apple to dip in some of her melted big ass chocolate bar (hence the need to join a gym):

imagesCARQEETZ

My dream is to look like this gym bunny, and only have to strike sensuous poses as I lounge around the equipment rather than actually using any of it to workout:

images

 When I got home tonight, I got on the scales, so I could set up my account for the Weight Watchers online program.  This is what went through my head when I did:

imagesCAGAI2ZG

I came across these two photos while looking for images for this post and said a silent prayer that Joan and I will have similar successes:

imagesCAANAGSZ   imagesCAQLOM2L

I’m happy for these women.  I don’t know who they are, but I know they are brave, determined, and faced down their moments of feeling like giving in (maybe not the blonde…that could have been photoshopped, but it is still motivating, because her starting weight looks pretty damn good to me!).

Now here comes the part when I tie in the topic of discussion with what’s going on in the bigger scheme of things….

imagesCAEJ2EKP

Fireworks have died down, barbecue grills have been cleaned, and the  signs of yet another Independence Day celebration have been cleared away.  I stress the word “Independence”.  For me, I hope to be free from weight and body issues that have been part of my daily life since childhood.  It is something I battle constantly.  Sometimes I win for a while, and sometimes I wave the white flag and give up.  Right now, I’ve got to fight harder and with more dedication and determination than ever.  Food is my addiction.  You may have the same problem.  You may be one that battles alcohol, drugs, smoking, negativity, overspending….the list goes on.  One addiction is no easier to break than another, because for the person in the war, it’s always there.  Let’s metaphorically pull ourselves up by our boot straps, and push ahead, celebrating every victory along the way, no matter how big or small.  Don’t look at the whole picture, or you will run away screaming and crumble.  Take it hour by hour, half a day at a time, a day at a time, a week at a time, etc….wherever you are in your war against addictive behaviors, keep pressing on.  Surround yourself with voices that say “You’re doing it, you’re doing it!” rather than “You’ll never make it.”  Separate yourself from enablers.  Hang out with those that love you enough to be tough enough to talk straight to you even if it hurts sometimes.  At the close of each day, try to focus on each positive move you made toward breaking the bad habits and forming good ones in their place.  We are blessed people to have our independence as a nation.  Let’s now begin/continue to work for our independence as individuals free from those “chains that bind us” and keep us from being our BEST SELF!!  Love you guys.  WE CAN DO IT!  WE ARE DOING IT!!

Now I know I only have to think about Rick hanging out at the gym, and I know I can last a few minutes longer on that blasted elliptical machine that taunts me, and snickers  (I would use a candy bar word!) at me as I approach it.  Nah…it’s not doing that at all….it is running for cover just like the scales in the cartoon above!!!

HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND!!! 

2 thoughts on “Workout Motivation

    • Can you tell it was 5:00 this morning, and I hadn’t been to bed yet? I’m not typically a “gawker”, but this man was worthy of a gawk! Have a wonderful weekend. Congrats on all the new books you’ve got coming out now. You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

