My Email Adventure…

After nearly a year and a half of writing, revising, proofing, critiquing, entering contests, and sleep deprivation, it happened…my manuscript was picked up for publishing as an ebook and in print!  I think the word (sound?) SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is appropriate here!  I began this blog a few days ago as I entered the fourth week of waiting for an email from the publishing company either asking me to join them, or declining what has fast become my “baby”.  Two days ago I thought the answer had arrived when my husband sent the bookkeeper out to carpool to insist that I go inside for an important email.  As I held my breath and clicked on that email, it turned out to be from my husband asking me to be sure and get the car note paid, as it was due that day!     In case you are wondering…no, he was not made to suffer for that innocent blunder!

Yesterday, I was selected as the “Teacher of the Year” for our school.  I was (am) honored, but very shocked when I clicked on that schoolwide email from the principal, only to find out I was the recipient of that award.  I thought this was a wonderful email to get, but still not THE email I was anxiously awaiting.  I spread that bit of news to my family via email, all the while checking my email periodically to see if there was an offer to acquire my manuscript.  My dear sister(and fellow author) opened and responded to several emails that just said things like, “I’m croaking”, “I’m down to the quicks!”, and so forth.  I finally went to bed last night around 2:00 after working on my website for a while.  I couldn’t close down my computer without , yes… checking email one more time!!

Today, was so hectic, I was ready to scream by the time my students were dismissed for the day!  My “To Do” list kept getting longer, and nothing on it could wait until tomorrow.  I was trying to teach as well as any proper “Teacher of the Year” would, and still accomplish the goals before 3:00.  Needless to say, I was so bogged down with those responsibilities, my mind didn’t have the time or inclination to check any emails!  My son and I left the school at 5:00, and I confess, I checked email right before walking out the door, but no sign of the elusive email!! 

After dinner, I sat down in front of the computer to check the regular sites I visit each day.  Before starting my routine, I opened the email, and there it was…the word “Submission”.  The email had arrived.  I didn’t feel like squealing, running, and I was breathing normally as I stared at the word with my hand hovering over the mouse.  “It will be okay – whatever it says,” I tried to convince myself.  I read the first sentence, under the impression I was getting the “pass”on my story, when my eyes fixed on the words “we want your book, One Sizzling Summer.”  I sat dazed, staring at the screen, rereading the email to be sure I wasn’t misinterpreting the message.  Then… I screamed!  I danced!  I jogged in place(without actually moving my feet off the ground- more of a jogging simulation)!  I squealed!  Then I grabbed my phone and began to spread the news to family and friends that had been on the journey with me since day one a year go!

  Emails are great, and usually  the method of choice when it comes to communication,   but this news required hearing the actual sounds, words, and reaction to my thrilling news.  I shared it and won’t likely forget the encouraging words and happiness for my efforts proving to actually pay off!   Now, here I am at the computer again, about to press the word “Publish”,  and share this email/blog entry with anyone that may lose their way on the streets of Cyberspace, and end up at my site!!  This is just the beginning of my “adventure”.  I see MANY more to come as I go through the publishing process with my book.  Thank God for email!!!

Spark Tip of the Day:  Think of one person( family member, old friend, best friend, etc.) you would enjoy sharing some good news with.  Instead of sending an email, use the phone and call them with your news.  Savor the sound of the smile in their voice, the laughter and giggles, the words of someone that really cares about and accepts the real you – flaws and all!  I don’t know about you, but I was grinning and had (have)a spark of joy in my own voice and eyes.  I wonder if it will still be there when I wake up in the morning?…Probably…

Leave a Reply

