A Writer’s Romance Review

The Ugly Duckling Debutante

by Rachel Van Dyken

Reviewed by Kate Patrick

I love to read.  I love to read stories of romance.  I usually like to read a scorching, passionate tale of true romance, but the book, The Ugly Duckling Debutante , a historical romance by Rachel Van Dyken surprised me.  It surprised me because it was a “tender romance” that told the tale of Sara, a simple county girl brought to London by her aunt to catch a wealthy husband during the “Season” in order to end her family’s financial woes. Her aunt’s cousin, Lord Renwick, is assigned the task of being her tutor to teach her the do’s and don’t’s of debutantes.  Nicholas thinks this won’t be an issue since he has sworn off women and wild habits, until… he meets Sara face to face.  He thinks she is the most gorgeous creature he has ever seen and can’t take his eyes off of her.  Sara mistakenly thinks he can’t stop staring at her because she is so dreadfully ugly, something she has been told by her family her whole life.  The two are drawn to one another, but seem destined to be at odds with one another always.  Eventually, they reach  the point where they declare their love for one another, and live “Happily ever after“, but not before some surprising plot twists along the way!

I really enjoyed this book.  The reason I did was because I loved reading the thoughts the hero had whenever he saw Sara.  He was completely enthralled by her, and couldn’t resist her, try as he may.  Sara was witty and sassy, and had an independent streak that he found admirable.  The two main characters were believable and shared many humorous conversations, and plenty of “steamy” encounters.  He was a real romantic, yet strong hero.  I loved reading how he described his feelings for Sara each time he saw her, listened to her, and touched her.  I didn’t want to put it down until I finished it.  And,,,Van Dyken leaves you with a cliffhanger, so I will now have to search out her next book to see what happens!

On a scale of 1-5, with 5 being the highest rating, I will give The Ugly Duckling Debutante a 4, because it got to the point it was a real page turner for me just because I loved the truly romantic thoughts of the hero!

Thanks for dropping by!  Next week, I hope to have a guest here to review her most recent “Romance Read” for us!  Until then, take care!

2 thoughts on “A Writer’s Romance Review

  1. The cliffhanger is a brilliant idea. I will certainly be getting the book to find out more about Sebastian St. James! Loved the “Duckling” book. If this is half the story it was, I am in for another page turner! Thank you so much for dropping by to say hello. I am honored.:)

Leave a Reply

