Writing Getaway…Book Giveaway

Well, school will be back in session in less than a month, and I have taken time to escape to the beach for a chance to work on completing my third book.  Joan Chandler invited me and my son to join her and her family at Orange Beach, Alabama for some much-needed R& R.  We did what we always do when we are together like this…stayed up all night writing and bouncing ideas off of each other.  We both accomplished a great deal (even with the movie “Underdog” playing in the background!).  Today, (though slightly bleary-eyed) we will take the kids to the zoo and then for a dip in the pool (yes, we are at the beach, but going to a pool), with some bike-riding time squeezed in somewhere.  Then after dinner, we’ll pull out the laptops and begin another round of midnight writing while the kids watch “Journey 2”.

We seem to get so much accomplished when we get together.  We’ve been writing buddies for years, and it makes such a difference to have someone to talk to who understands that sometimes, the story takes you on a journey filled with twists and turns you didn’t expect even though you are the author.  The characters take on a life of their own, and at times, won’t let you write something that isn’t true to their personality, even if you had planned otherwise.  I guess I write as I go, even though I think I have a general idea of what is going to happen.

If you are a writer, I hope you have found a writing “soul mate” to make the writing journey an exciting, productive one.  Joan Chandler is my writing soul mate.  This coming Sunday I will be posting an interview with my friend, Joan Chandler, author of the new mainstream romance, No Regrets.  As part of the celebration of the release of No Regrets, I will be giving away a free copy of her e-book,  No Regrets.

To enter the book giveaway, just “Like” this post or leave a comment ANYTIME between now and Sunday afternoon.  AT 2:00, Sunday, July 29th, I will choose a winner and post the name here on my blog.  The winner will then be asked to email me with his/her email address, and I will send that person a gift card from BookStrand Publishing, so that he/she  may download a copy of No Regrets.  Remember, even if you don’t own an eReader, you can download the story onto your laptop in pdf format and read it directly from your computer, so everyone can participate!

Thank you for dropping by today.  I hope this is a pleasant, productive week for all of you.  Now, before you leave, click that “Like” button and enter the No Regrets book giveaway!

One thought on “Writing Getaway…Book Giveaway

Leave a Reply

