Merry Christmas Everyone!

Xmas treeI want to wish everyone a wonderful Christmas season.  Thank you for following my blog, and commenting on posts.  That makes me feel like we are friends, even though we wouldn’t know each other if we were sitting next to each other!!  If there is one thought I could leave with you all, it’s to live life to the fullest, and enjoy the time you have with your loved ones.  Make time for them.  Listen to them.  Just sit beside them and hold their hand.  Put down the book you’re reading.  Pause the movie you are watching.  Power down the computer.  Turn off the stove.  Give your attention to those you love while you can.

I just spent Christmas Eve at my Dad’s house for the first time.  He is too sick with cancer to go  through our traditional plans for Christmas Eve. I’m certain this is our last Christmas together.  All I want is more time with him, but that time is quickly running out.  I will be there almost every day until he is gone, no matter what I have to put aside to do that.  I am thankful for  a husband who takes up the slack so I can go to him as much as I need to.  I’ll have no regrets when this battle with cancer is over.  I’ll have memories of these days to look back on and smile about.  The things I set aside to be with him won’t matter at all, but the memories will.

On the way home tonight, my son started to ask me a question, and then said to forget it.  He didn’t want to “bother me”.  I told him to tell me because days will come when he’s all grown up, and I will look back and wish for him to talk to me.  I never want to be too busy to give my child my attention.  Yes, sometimes it is very hard to not rush him to the point, but he has to know he can count on me to listen and value his words.

This may not seem like much of an encouraging post, but it is.  I’ve made some changes in my life to accommodate those that mean most to me, something I haven’t always done.  I am stronger and happier for it.  Take a few moments to assess your personal situation, and like me, consider making some small changes to allow yourself the luxury of quality time spent with loved ones.   Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!!

6 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Everyone!

  1. Merry Christmas Kate. I’m with you on the parent thing. My mom is not the same since her stroke and she’s so frail I’m afraid this is our last year too.

    Yes, treasure all the time with your son and leave that door of communication open for all time. It will reward you for years to come.

    Love you.

    • I appreciate you comment as the mother of older sons. You know what you are talking about, and it is clear you have a wonderful relationship with your “boys”. I’m on the way to Mom’s to check on her, as she’s not feeling well. either. Merry Christmas! Loveyou girl!

      Kate/Kathryn

      On Tue, Dec 25, 2012 at 7:09 AM, kate patrick

  2. A very nice, heartfelt post, Kate. It isn’t always easy to do what is right, but later on – in hindsight – you will be able to sleep soundly at night. Others will not be as at peace with themselves, based on their choices. You are a great example for others to follow.

    • Joan,

      I’ve known you for what seems like a lifetime, and you’ve certainly got a handle on doing you deem “the right thing” regardless of whether or not it passes the judgement of others. You also have a wonderful relationship with your children because not only do you talk to them, you LISTEN to them,and take steps to create memories with them and for them. I hope this coming new year will be a spectacular one for you and your family.

      Kate

      On Tue, Dec 25, 2012 at 10:14 AM, kate patrick

    • Thank you so much! I probably shouldn’t have come home and posted after a crying jaunt on the way home! 🙂 I do wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season, and the best of everything for the new year!

      Kate

Leave a Reply

